India News Sports Knowledge Sports News

national sports awards: How many types of national sports awards

  • September 11, 2023
  • 6 min read
national sports awards: How many types of national sports awards
National Sports Day (Rashtriya Khel Diwas) is celebrated every year on 29 August in India. This day is celebrated as the birthday of Indian sports guru Dhyan Chand and on this day his important contribution in the world of sports is remembered. Major Dhyan Chand was one of the best hockey players and had led India to prestigious victories in many big matches in hockey.

Every year in India, on the occasion of National Sports Day, the Sports and Youth Ministry, Government of India, honors the players who have contributed in the field of sports and their important role in the sports world is given importance. On this day, Indian players are honored by the President of India at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

During National Sports Day, various competitions, sports and cultural programs are organized in which players are invited and introduced to their fans. This day is considered an occasion to give importance to sports and physical fitness. National Sports Day is a symbol of pride for the Indian sports community and symbolizes our dedication and support towards the players.

National Sports Awards (Rashtriya Khel Puraskar) The list of National Sports Awards in India includes six major awards-

1. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, also known as Khel Ratna.
2. Arjuna Award
3. Dronacharya Award
4. Major Dhyan Chand Award
5. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy, also known as Maka Trophy.
6. National Sports Promotion Award Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award has been an unexpected part of the list since 2004.

The National Sports Awards, which is a collection of six different honors given to players, coaches or businessmen for their contribution and contribution in the development of Indian sports, is considered the highest athletic honor in India.

1. Khel Ratna Award The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, which served as India’s top athletic award in 1991–1992, is now replaced by the Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, the premier award in India. India’s chess grandmaster Vishwanathan Anand was honored with the Khel Ratna award for the first time. The Khel Ratna stalwart has received a medal, a commemorative and a memorial award for his great sporting exploits over the course of four years.

The youngest athlete to receive the Khel Ratna award is sculpture Abhinav Bindra, who won the first individual gold medal for India at the Beijing Olympics in 2008. Additionally, the first Indian woman to receive the Khel Ratna was Olympic bronze medalist weightlifter Karnam Malleswari Valley, who was honored with the award in 1994–95.

2. Arjuna Award The Arjuna Award was established in 1961 and is named after Arjuna, the principal character of the historical Indian epic Mahabharata. Before becoming the Khel Ratna, it was India’s highest athletic honour. The Arjuna Award for consistently outstanding performance over four years is awarded along with a Statue of Arjuna, a Statue and a Memorial Award.

The first 20 football players to receive the Arjuna Award were India’s Olympian PK Nbn in 1961. The first female hockey player to receive the Arjuna Award was Anna Lamsden. A certified sportsperson is not eligible for Khel Ratna recognition under the Arjuna Award. However, the Arjuna winner can be nominated for the Khel Ratna.

The award is presented by the Indian Sports Ministry and is nominated to recognize the outstanding contribution of sportspersons. These award players stand testament to their professional contributions and are playing an important role in promoting excellence in the field of sports.

3. Dronacharya Award The highest honor for coaches in sports in India is the Dronacharya Award, which was instituted in 1985. This is said to be done to those who are among the important international players who need help in the Indian competition. The award is based on the Mahabharata, where Arjuna’s guru or coach was Dronacharya. Dronacharya Award The award consists of a bronze statue of Dronacharya, a certificate and a cash amount.

The first Dronacharya awardees included wrestling coach Bhalchandra Bhaskar Bhagwat, retired coach Om Prakash Bhardwaj and renowned athletics coach Om Nambiar, who is credited with shaping the career of Indian sprint queen PT Usha. Athletics coach Renu Kohli became the first woman to receive the Dronacharya Award in 2002.

4. Major Dhyan Chand Award The Major Dhyan Chand Award, also named after India’s hockey wizard Dhyan Chand, is the country’s highest award for fanatics in the game. The award honors players with a Dhyanchand statuette, a certificate and a financial award for their outstanding and individual contribution to the development of the performance game.

The first recipients of the Major Dhyan Chand Award were Olympian Diaz Shahuraj Birajdar, Indian men’s hockey team member Ashok Diwan and Indian women’s baseball team’s distinguished player and coach Aparna Ghosh.

5. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy The Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy, often known as the MAKA Trophy, was instituted in 1956–1957 and is India’s oldest national sports award.

New Zealand defeated England and leveled the T20 series 2-2. 

6. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Awards National Khel Protsahan Awards, which are given to organizations or corporations (both private and public) and individuals for their contribution to the development and promotion of sports during the last three years, List of National Sports Awards since 2009 I have remained consistent. The selection of nominees for the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Awards has been divided into four categories: sports for development, corporate social responsibility initiatives to promote sports, hiring athletes and identifying and developing new talent. The winners in each category receive a trophy and a citation. There may be more than one winner in the same category in a given year.

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award The Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award, created in 1994 to honor Norgay, aims to acknowledge extraordinary achievements in the world of adventure sports on land, water and air. The Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards, awarded since 2004 along with six major national honours, are the adventure sports world’s equivalent of the Arjuna Awards. Before the establishment of this award, achievements in adventure sports were also recognized with the Arjuna Award. The Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award is divided into four categories each year: Land Adventure, Water (Sea) Adventure, Aerial Adventure, and Lifetime Achievement.

Photo By Abp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *